Watch the Lowering of the Old First Chandelier
Lowering our breathtaking chandelier for cleaning and maintenance is not an event that happens often. Since Pastor Daniel Meeter’s arrival in 2001, it’s only been lowered three times. In fact, the last lowering, in 2010, is what thankfully led to our discovery that the ceiling needed to be reinforced.
The custom-made chandelier, technically called an electro-gasolier, was first installed in the church around 1889. Along with Old First’s current sanctuary restoration, it’s getting some well-deserved love. This time we’ll be able to get to the bottom of many of the chandelier’s confounding mysteries and yet undiscovered historical significance.
Click on this time-lapse video of the Old First chandelier’s most recent lowering — it will give you all the feels. The amazing video was shot by Janet McAllister:
These gorgeous still photos were taken by Chloe Carter-Daves:
Meanwhile, up in the attic, Michael Daves (Chloe’s dad) shot the video of working the winch. Braden Hamilton and Ken Nieuwenhuis are the two guys on the winch. Off-camera, John Dyck was working the brake on the winch.
For the remaining restoration period, Milan Restoration will build a protective box around the chandelier, as well as the pipe organ. The work is expected to be completed by spring of this year. We’re expected to be officially back in the sanctuary by Christmas season 2018 (best Christmas gift ever).
Click here to read more about our chandelier’s incredible backstory and its current status.
Below, more pictures of the lowering by Old First deacon (and photographer) Vera Niewenhuis.